JP Magazine v2 - шаблон joomla Оригами

HOD's profile

This is to welcome you to Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Ibadan.

Our vision as a department is to produce highly competent graduates with the right professional attitude and skills required in all aspects of the development of new chemical entities suitable for therapeutic use.

Our mission is to apply the knowledge of chemistry in drug discovery, development and quality assurance to train well rounded pharmacists and graduate students with requisite cutting-edge professional knowledge, skill, values and attitude required in following areas of healthcare practice:

  1. Academia and research institutes.
  2. Pharmaceutical Industries.
  3. Regulatory and Policy-making organizations.
  4. Public Health programmes.

The Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry which was a full department since the inception of Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Ibadan over 30 years ago is one of the six departments in the Faculty of Pharmacy. The department which is actively involved in the training of pharmacists in the regular B. Pharm. programme also runs three postgraduate programs namely: Masters of Science in Pharmaceutical Chemistry (Pharmaceutical Analysis Option), Postgraduate Diploma in Drug Analysis and PhD in Pharmaceutical Chemistry. We have produced highly rated graduates who are contributing immensely to pharmacy practice all over the world in the pharmaceutical industry, academia and other sectors of the economy.

There are currently five (5) research units in the department namely; Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacogenomics, Predictive Chemistry, Process Understanding, modelling and Simulation; Analytical Method Development & Chemometrics; Photochemistry & Photobiology, Phytochemistry. There are nine lecturers; professors and other cadres of academic staff and an emeritus professor; all are registered pharmacists.  

Once again you are welcome to Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Ibadan.

Dr. Olayemi M. Adegbolagun (FPCPharm.)

Ag. Head of Department