Skip to main content

No fewer than 40 Pharmacy students were recently inducted into the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN) by the Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Ibadan, at a ceremony held at the school’s lecture theatre.

The glamorous occasion, which took place on 3 July, 2014, had several students, parents, pharmacists, pharmacy professors and members of the PCN in attendance.

Welcoming the audience to the institution’s 27th induction ceremony, the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Isaac Adewole, who was represented by the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration) Prof. Emilolorun Ayelari, stressed that the past 30 years had seen the Pharmacy faculty develop into an enviable academy, due to its significant contribution to meeting the manpower needs of the nation’s pharmaceutical sector.

Prof. Adewole noted that the commitment of the faculty to excellence contributed toits recent establishment of the Centre for Drug Discovery, Development and Production (CDDDP) through the MacArthur Grant for Excellence.

On her part, Prof. Chinedum Peace Babalola, the first female dean of the faculty,congratulated the graduands and theirwell-wishers present at the ceremony.

She declared that the faculty had produced great professionals and currently houses great minds who have won laurels, grants and recognitions, locally and internationally.

While observing that the faculty was the only one teaching herbal medicine in Nigeria, Babalola urged other Pharmacy faculties to embrace the initiative.

Also applauding the graduands, PCN registrar, Pharm. Elijah Mohammed, charged them to discharge their duties professionally, as well as provide innovative services that would distinguish them.

Muhammed however lamented that it was quite unfortunate that brain drain had led to shortage of pharmacists in the nation’s pharmaceutical sector. He reassured the graduands that his administration would reposition Pharmacy registry for effective service delivery and institutionalisation of good pharmacy practice in Nigeria.

The highpoint of the event was the award of the much coveted PCN prize for the best graduating student, which was won by Abiola Adenike